Somewhere Out There

“Somewhere out there,
Beneath the pale moonlight,
Someone’s thinking of me,
And loving me tonight.

Somewhere out there,
Someone’s saying a prayer,
That we’ll find one another,
In that big somewhere out there.

And even though I know how very far apart we are,
It helps to think we might be wishing on the same bright star,
And when the night wind starts to sing a lonesome lullaby,
It helps to think we’re sleeping underneath the same big sky!

Somewhere out there,
If love can see us through,
Then we’ll be together,
Somewhere out there,
Out where dreams
Come true…”

I remember watching the movie American Tail as a kid and listening to this song over and over again.  I was pretty young, but yet I can remember crying over it even then.  I also remember a scene in the movie All Dogs go to Heaven when the little girl is sitting on a windowsill singing “Soon You’ll Come Home,” and dreaming of a forever family.  Yeah, that’s right, I cried over that one too.  Funnily enough, those are the only movie scenes I ever remember crying over as a child.  On some level, they touched me.  I believe that, kooky as it may sound to you guys, God was putting adoption in my heart even then.  When I was older, I watched Adoption Stories on TV just for fun.  I cried over the “gotcha days” even more than I cried over The Baby Story.  Before I even got engaged I told Richard that adoption was something I wanted to do; and because God is awesome, Richard was not only supportive, but totally on board.

Eight years of marriage, and two bio kids later, that desire has not gone away….it has only gotten stronger.  Recently God put several families in our lives who have adopted children and managed to hook me up with an adoption support group in our new church.  Needless to say, the desire to adopt has grown exponentially within the last year, and finally Richard and I feel like God is saying- it’s time to do something about it.

So here we go.  Thanks to several friends, we were able to get great recommendations on an agency- and after researching our options, we have decided that we will be adopting  a 2-3 year old boy from Uganda in 2013.

Oh, you didn’t read that right?

Uganda. 2013.  

We might not know his name, and we have never seen his face, but I can’t believe how much we already love him.

We have paid the application fee, and we are now on our way.  No going back.

We have started this blog so that you can share our journey with us.  Prayers, advice, and donations are MUCH appreciated!  Thank you for reading!

-The Daw Family

*ps- there is a link under the donate  button that you can click to see our possible fundraising t-shirts- let us know what you think in the comments!

One response to “Somewhere Out There

  1. Words cannot express what you are doing. I wept as I donated. I really wish I could give more so my new grandson could be in the bosom of the family. I love you all you really are great people. mum xx

Leave a Reply

