The post in which I admit I have a problem.

Do you know what this is?
2012-11-29_19-50-58_257

That’s our formal application, my friends. Sung to the tune of $2500. It was mailed this morning, and now we’re in business.
Today we pay the homestudy application fee and begin that process as well. Great news is, the person who will be doing our homestudy works close by out of her home, has adopted two African children herself, has lots of experience with Ugandan adoptions, and is actually affordable.  

It’s awesome how that worked out, actually.  The place that we had planned on using had required two out-of-town trips for training, one of which fell on my daughter’s birthday (yeah, not going to happen).  Right when I was getting discouraged, I managed to find this other option, which turned out to be perfect for us.  Not to mention it can be completed in a shorter amount of time than we originally expected.  Even one day closer to getting our referral and seeing that handsome face sounds good to me.

I’m not really sure if I’ve mentioned it yet or not (since I’m obviously too lazy to look at my last post), but we will be adopting a 2-3 year old little boy.  We really like the fact that they will all be in “birth order,” all of our kids will be pretty close in age.

As far as the timeline goes, the agency is being pretty optimistic that he will be home towards the end of the year.  Right now there is no “wait list,” for Ugandan boys.  Obviously anything can happen in that time period, but we are being cautiously optimistic and really praying that 2013 will be the year.  So, if you don’t mind, please send us cookies because we’re fatties pray with us.  Regardless of timeline, we have quite the journey ahead of us.

Do you remember high school, when you used to drive by crush’s house at all hours of the day like a psycho stalker in hopes of getting another glimpse of them? (Unless you didn’t). Do you remember falling in love, and suddenly that person is all you can think about? That’s kind of how I feel about Uganda…and everyone in Uganda.

There is an African couple that live in my neighborhood that I (used to) run past all the time.  We would always exchange a few words, but I’ve never actually asked them what country they’re from.  Now every time I see them I can’t help but creep them out by staring wonder if they might be from Uganda. I suppose I could actually ask them, but that would require running again but I’m not sure when I’ll have the opportunity. Usually when I pass them I am driving by in the car, and nothing would be more awkward than shouting “HEY WHERE ARE Y’ALL FROM?” from the passenger side window.

I obviously have a problem. Whenever I have a chance, I am reading articles about Uganda online, picking up books from the library, or watching videos on Youtube.  All I want to do is stare at pictures of beautiful Ugandan kids.  I recognize that if I weren’t adopting, this would probably be creepy (it’s probably creepy anyway).  Honestly, I even found a video on Youtube made by an African American hairdresser, schooling white adoptive parents on how to properly deal with their kids’  hair.  I watched with rapt attention.  Now I can proudly say that I know what “the line” means when I walk into a barber shop.

Richard is excited as well, but I don’t think he quite understands this burgeoning obsession. When I tell him random facts about Lake Victoria, he gives me an indulgent smile.  Richard knows how I roll, and he doesn’t dare interfere with the process that is Dena finally adopting.

To any of you adoptive parents, did you fall in love with the country?  Did you watch gotcha videos online and cry like a baby learn something?

Because maybe I have lost my mind…but I’m loving every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

