Then.

So, at the beginning of this week I sent up a prayer. It was a really simple one, and, if I’m brutally honest, I can’t say I even expected it to be answered.

F0BCAEB4F3564DBEADACBE69FB881F52
“Lord, will you please start sending us signs that we are on the right track with this adoption thing.”

I know, I know…I too am shocked by my eloquence.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I am 100% sure that Richard and I should adopt. But…it’s scary. There’s a lot of corruption in Uganda. There’s a lot of waiting to be done. There’s a lot of uncertainty. There’s still a lot of paperwork to fill out and a lot of checks to write. Deciding to move forward with adoption isn’t like deciding on an expensive vacation. This is for the rest of our lives, and sometimes it’s hard not to get overwhelmed by the magnitude of what we’re doing.

Then.

I get an email informing me that someone in my adoption support group is planning on adopting from Uganda as well. In case this seems like a well that’s not a surprise, let me tell you, it is. There aren’t many people that adopt from Uganda. ALL of the people that I know who have adopted from Africa have adopted from Ethiopia. Ugandan adoptions are few and far between, at least in my world. So that news was HUGE. I immediately fired off an e-mail to my new best friend this awesome person considering Uganda, and I received an enthusiastic response (which is good, because frankly, I scared myself with my excitement level and I was worried that maybe I’d scared her too).

Then.

2 days later, my daughter comes home from school and tells me, “Mom, guess what! I have a Ugandan in my class!” Now, before I could start explaining to her that just because someone has dark skin, it doesn’t make them Ugandan, she went on to explain that there was a new girl in her class that day named Neema. The principal had brought Neema to the class that morning and singled Abi out to be the one to “make Neema feel welcomed.” Apparently, Neema just moved from Africa. What are the chances of that? Seriously?  How many new kids in your class were ever straight from Africa?  How many of those new African kids were made to feel welcome by you, a few weeks after finding out that you’re about to adopt a little brother from Uganda? (For those of you who really believe it’s just coincidence, you better stop reading now).
At this point I remembered my prayer, and I started considering the fact that maybe God was actually answering it. *This is the part when God shakes his head in disbelief that I hadn’t figured it out sooner*
Then.

Right as I’m considering this, I get a call from my mom, who had gone to the clinic to have her flu shot. “You would never believe this! The woman who gave us our shots is from Uganda!”
At this point I ceased being surprised. Of course she’s from Uganda.
“We had a nice long talk, and she even gave us her name and number if we have any questions or just want to talk!”

That night, as Richard gets home, verbal diarrhea ensues. By the end of it, all he can do is smile and say, “that’s pretty cool.”
THAT’S IT? That’s pretty cool? This is an answered prayer! I slowly begin to realize that maybe the gravity of this situation is only occurring to me. Then, of course, I start to second guess myself. I am kind of obsessed with Uganda right now. To the point where I’m looking up bumper stickers like this:

Image

Maybe it is possible that in my obsessive fury I have come under some Uganda-induced haze where everything connected to Uganda is now being noticed, when it was always there before (minus the new girl in Abi’s class).
Then.
Today I had to take my son to the doctor for his 4 year old appointment. The doctor we had been scheduled to see, however, ended up not being there. I was pretty disappointed, given that I seriously only like about 2 doctors in a practice of about 8. And one of those two I only like on a good day.
We get back in the waiting room and we wait for the doctor that I’m less than thrilled about seeing, and then suddenly a new doctor walks through the door.
After a while, I start to consider liking her, and I think to myself- things are looking up. Maybe I won’t leave this practice after all.
Then.
“I’ve got these medical clearance forms I need you to fill out for both of my children, please. We’re in the middle of a homestudy right now, because we’re adopting from Uganda.” -says me.
Pause.
Big smile.
“Really?” says the suddenly very enthusiastic new doctor that I’m beginning to like. “I just got back from Uganda!”

Okay, so by this point I’m totally in love with this new doctor and ready to have her babies.  I realize that as long as this Uganda-loving doctor is in residence, I will not be leaving this practice any time soon.

I also realize that, wow. God has answered my prayer. For the fourth time this week.

And it’s only Thursday.

3 responses to “Then.

  1. I’m a friend of Anj Nandwani and I saw her post a link to this on her blog… I shall be following your progress and praying for you! Go, brave Daw family! God bless you on this journey He is leading you in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

