Project Hopeful Awassa, A Heart for Korah, and a LETTER FROM SAMUEL!

Occasionally I like to make a post that has nothing to do with adoption. As you have probably seen before, I had previously posted about Project Hopeful Awassa, an organization that Richard and I are involved in that involves a sponsorship program. We are what’s called a “FIG” for two kids; Rediet, who is 7, and Samuel, who is 17. (For more information about what a FIG is, click on the picture below)

HiResLOGOPH-150x150

A friend of ours is the FIG Awassa Coordinator, and she takes a team with her to Ethiopia to serve this community every year.  On these trips we have been able to send pictures/letters/care packages to our children and then we’ve been able to see the joy in their faces when they receive them.  It. is. awesome.  I know I have photo bragged on my kids before, but here I go again.

Image

(because every 7 yr old girl needs those glasses)

and Samuel

Image

(because every person on EARTH needs that hat)

Now let’s get to the beef of this post: So far I’ve only been able to send letters and not receive them. But…yesterday…

Image

A LETTER FROM SAMUEL!

This thing hadn’t been translated into English- it had been written in English. By Samuel himself. The English was a little broken, some words were misspelled, some of the characters were hard to identify…

and it was perfect.  It was, quite honestly, the most beautiful letter I have ever received.

Samuel has led a hard life. His father died young and he is apart from his mother due to poverty- and the best thing we can do for him is keep him in school. He wants to be a doctor. His favorite subject is Chemistry. He plays “kibord” at church. He likes to play soccer. He has beautiful handwriting. His “dream” is to have us visit him in Ethiopia. He is crazy handsome. He is polite and has so much hope. He writes things like this:

“Really God give you to me to save my life from any danger. If you didn’t support me my life passed away soon, as my father. So now, I know you are on my side, I don’t fear what anything that comes.”

What can we even say to that?  I wish I could tell him how much happiness that letter has brought to us. How much we’ll treasure it.  How much we love him, even though we haven’t met him.  And oh yeah, the p.s. at the end?

“I have dream that one day you and your family come and visit Ethiopia!”  

Done, my man. Done.  Maybe not this year, but you bet can bet your Ethiopian butt we’ll be there at some point.

Rediet is too young to write a letter like that- but maybe I can coax a picture out of her! Trust me, we’ll treasure it as much as we treasure this letter.  I wanted to share this with you guys in hopes that maybe some of you will check out Project Hopeful.  It’s $30 a month- and most people spend that going to Moe’s. And Moe’s doesn’t write you letters. You don’t change a life by eating at Moe’s.  It’s worth it.

We also sponsor a man named Desalegn and his son Dagim via another organization, A Heart for Korah. Again, click picture below to learn more about them.

Image

Korah is a dump in Ethiopia, filled with people living on less than dollar a day- many of whom have leprosy, as it is a former leper colony.  This is family sponsorship program. So for $40/month you sponsor an entire family by providing them food and rent each month. Not only that, but you can always give more whenever you are able or feel led- and 100% of that extra money goes to the family.

Desalegn and Dagim are pictured below:

Image

Desalegn’s wife died of HIV and left him with the baby, Dagim. He desperately needed money for food and for someone to watch his child so he could go find work instead of begging. We’ve gotten a few updated pics of him since we’ve begun sponsoring him. Here is the latest:

Image

You see those worry lines in the first pic? It’s so nice to not see them in the 2nd. And that yellow bag is filled with supplies. There are SO many families who could use your help in Korah. If you are more interested in sponsoring a family than a child, then please take a look at their website.

That is my sponsorship plug of the day!  Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

