A different route….same destination

two-roads-diverged1

First of all, I want to thank all of you for all of your support and prayers.  It has meant SO much to us.  There is a much longer post coming, but for now I just wanted to update all of you.  We are no longer going to be adopting with our agency.  That does NOT mean we won’t be adopting.  Does that mean we will not be adopting from Uganda?  I don’t know. Richard and I have kind of been dealt a blow, and we’re still reeling, and we’re doing a lot of emailing and making a lot of phone calls…and of course, praying, praying, praying.  I do not want to get into the specifics of what happened, but a lot of it had to do with ethics and trust and just the current atmosphere within Uganda at the moment.  I was debating about whether or not to post anything on here before knowing what we are going to do next- but I figure we need all the prayers we can get.  We currently have several options at the moment, and I don’t want to go running off in one direction without a lot of prayer.  Please pray that God will make our path clear to us.  Pray that doors will be opened.  Pray for all those kids in Uganda who need a home, but are many times unable to find one due to peoples’ greed and corruption.  Honestly, this has really made me realize just how badly I want to adopt.  My experience has not scared me off; I feel like it has only made me more cautious, and a little less naive. Our heart’s desire is still adoption.  It’s been that way since I was a kid, when I used to daydream about adopting a little girl and naming her Alisha (yeah, I don’t know).  I do feel like this has made me open up my heart to a little boy OR a little girl. I’m not sure how that has happened, but it has.  I’ve also realized that I am also willing to up my age range.  In the end, we are still adopting.  Although the path might be different, the end will be the same.  One day I know that I’ll look into my kid’s eyes and I’ll think- “I came so close to missing you.”  So I thank God for all the twists and turns this path will take because I know it’ll only lead us to our child.  Love you guys…I’ll be keeping you updated.

Leave a Reply

