Gratitude

 “Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life.  It turns what we have into enough, and more.  It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend.” 

Wouldn’t it be awesome if we always recognized that we live in abundance? Especially if this abundance inspired gratitude, which would lead us to give more and love more?  What if we could live every day of every month with the realization of how blessed we are?  When I speak of abundance, I’m not talking about material things, although I suppose many of us live with that kind of abundance as well.  I’m talking about everything you hold dear.

One of the definitions of abundance in the dictionary is overflowing fullness.  When I look at my life, starting from the minute I was born, I realize that I have experienced  an abundance of love. Sometimes I look at my kids when they’re sleeping and there is so much love in my heart for them that I feel like it truly is going to overflow.  Last weekend I spent time with some of my closest friends and I had a similar feeling; an abundance of support, exhortation, and reassurance. And of course, love.

I look at my life and the lives of those I love and I also see an abundance of good health. Of generosity. Faith.  And in those I don’t even know, I often see an abundance of good will.

How blessed are we?  Why do we only publicly recognize this one month a year?  Or one day a year?  I want my entire life to be filled with gratitude.  If I feel grateful, I’m much more likely to give back. I give out of the gratefulness in my heart. We all do. Whenever I feel myself shying away from being a generous person (and this happens often), I remind myself that I have so much.

Image

There will always be someone richer than me.. I might not be loved by the world, but we are loved by the one who created the world.  Good health might not last, but I celebrate the fact that I’m 31 and I am still breathing when so many beautiful people have died before me. Our adoption fell through, but I know that another one is hiding just around the corner.

God, I am so grateful.  All the time.  Help me not forget.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!  Live out that gratitude.

Leave a Reply

