Believe it or not, this has a point.

Hi. I am the owner of this blog and my name is Dena.

Image

^ That’s me drinking wine and stuff!

When I drop a plate, a cuss word is probably going to come out of my mouth. And no, I’m not talking about

Image.

When I start reading the bible…

Image

I like margaritas. And I have friends that like margaritas. And sometimes, instead of doing bible studies, this happens.

Image

I enjoy a good romance novel.  And yes, I’ve been known to pick up one with a cover like this.

Image

Vikings did not look like that.

Sometimes, instead of meditating on God’s word, I listen to music. And by music I mean that crap that’s played on 105.1 and 98.1. And then I sing in the car. And I know all the words. And sometimes I don’t substitute the bad ones. I just sing the real deal with the windows down.

Image

I also read gossip websites. Does that count as secondhand gossip? Because if it does I’m totally screwed (not really, THANKYA JESUS!).

Image

If you know who that is, we’re in this together.

So, the point of all this is…

Jesus loves the plate dropping, celebrity gossip loving, hopelessly addicted to really terrible literature girl that I am. And if he  had a house, he’d leave the door open for me. Always.

And he wouldn’t ask me to take my muddy shoes off before walking in the door.

He’d let me go in and join him for dinner just as I am, and half the time I look like a hobo.

And while I’m sitting there, regardless of whether I finish all my dinner or say the right thing, he’d kneel down, take my shoes off, and wash my feet.

My stanky, gross looking feet that I inherited from good old dad (sorry, dad).

But in order for me to have gotten to the table, I would have already tracked my nasty feet all over his house. He invited me knowing the state of my feet. He wanted me there anyway.  

He didn’t hose me down in the front yard. So why do so many Christians want to bust out the hose on people? To keep them at a distance and make sure they get clean before they’re invited in?

Why do we Gran Torino people?

Image

Because that’s not what Jesus did.  I bet he didn’t make the people with toenail infections raise their hands either.

In order to wash someones’ feet, you have to get close to them. In order to wash their feet, you have to put yourself below them. Regardless of who they are or what they’ve done, or what they still do. You have to service them. You have to humble yourself before them.

Jesus would wash your feet. He’s washed my feet, even though they still look like this.

Image

Not totally accurate, but close.

Who doesn’t want to know someone like that?  Someone who’s not afraid to touch you. To serve you. To feed you. To talk to you. To love you.  Love YOU, the piece of work that walked in the door?!

Die for you.

I know there is much hypocrisy in my life. But this is a holy week for me. And it can be for you, too.

“For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.” – Matthew 20:28

So let everyone in, not a select few. Everyone is worthy of having their feet washed.They are all worthy of being invited in and being close to. And, according to Jesus, they were all worth dying for. The least you can do is wash their stank feet.

Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet.” John 13:14

 

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

